Reviews

4.946
2017-11-09
5 out of 5
Outstanding customer service from these guys. Gary is a solid guy and these guys do a really good job. Saved me a lot of money and made sure my car was running right before just handing it back to me. I would highly recommend. Reasonably priced. Thank you!
2017-11-09
5 out of 5
Gary and his team show true integrity in their service. They were informative and helpful and got the job done quickly and for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.
2017-11-09
5 out of 5
I've been coming here for years. Great establishment. First class service. Very transparent. They also have some cool features the help you keep track of what's going on with you car. I would highly recommend!
2017-11-02
5 out of 5
I have been taking my car's here for a couple Years. They are incredibly helpful and honest !
2017-11-02
5 out of 5
Working with Gary from opening time, i am a very satisfied customer, he always delivers, A-1 in quality and professionalism, just pick up my truck last week, ride like new, very happy, the best mechanic in town, and i have a few in the last 35 years, highly recommended!!!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
I’m so grateful my friends recommended this place- I was impressed by Gary and his team. They showed me exactly where I needed repairs, gave me an honest estimate, and even detailed my car when they were done!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
I always rely on Carotech for my vehicle. Prompt and thorough service every time!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
I've had nothing but positive experiences at Carotech Automotive. The owner Gary is honest and wants you to feel like you know what's going on with your car and what needs to be done. He has beat estimates at other mechanics in the area for work that I have had done to my 2010 Mini Cooper. Would recommend with confidence.
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
Very honest and friendly! This is where I'll go for work on my car for now on... just moved to the city and know it's hard to find your dependable mechanic anywhere you go... well I was lucky to find this place. A light on my car wasn't working which I needed to pass an inspection for Uber. I called around and Carotech was able to check it right away... they figured out that the light bulb wasn't screwed in right and didn't even charge me! So thankful. Glad they are right near me for any future needs
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
Incredibly positive experience. Gary at Carotech was able to repair my Saturn. Friendly, honest, professional. Thank you Gary! Highly recommend!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
Gary has been so helpful with my car. He's reliable, trustworthy, and caring. There's nowhere else I'd rather go when I have car trouble!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
I’ve been using Carotech for the past three years or so, and the service has been uniformly excellent. I’ve referred three friends, and all are now satisfied customers, as well. Carotech is THE BEST!!!
2017-10-30
5 out of 5
Great service, fair prices, honesty re: work which needs to be done
2017-10-13
5 out of 5
This is long overdue. I went in last month because my engine light came on. This is the first time since my warranty expired that my car had to be serviced....
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
Gary was very honest and professional!
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
I took my car in the other day and the owner Gary was very helpful with what I needed to be done to my car which was an oil change, fixed my brakes and rotated my tires for me. Definitely will be coming back to this shop again! Awesome customer service!
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
I cannot say enough good things about Carotech Automotive. My brakes were squeaky so I knew I needed them replaced. I stopped by to get a quote on brake pad replacement and was greeted by Gary. He took my info and told me he would call soon with a quote. Within the hour, I got text messages and emails with the details of what my car needed. He followed up shortly after the messages with the quote, which was significantly less than what I thought I would have to pay (he also gave me a discount for mentioning that I found his shop on Yelp!). When I returned in the afternoon to pick up my car (very short turnaround time), Gary explained everything the mechanics did in detail, showed me my used brake pads and mentioned what services I would eventually need (NOTE: He didn't pressure me into additional services, HUGE plus there). On top of the great service, they cleaned in interior and exterior of my car and detailed the engine... for no additional charge. Amazing. Overall, it was the easiest and most convenient experience. I will be returning here for all my auto services.
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
I drive past this place every day on my way to work, and I'm glad I decided to go with them when my car needed work recently. Gary was very kind from our very first conversation, and he made sure to update me along the way as my car was being worked on. It ended up needing more work than originally planned, but he sent me pictures of the damage he was repairing, and kept my old (rusted!) parts to show when I went to pick up my car. Last but not least, he worked quickly to make sure that I wasn't without my car for too long. I am glad to have found a trusted mechanic in the area.
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
Gary is incredible. Trustworthy, fair, reasonably priced, transparent. I have never met another mechanic like him. I even sought his advice when leasing a new car. He is a gem.
2017-09-30
5 out of 5
I rarely write a review, but this is a must. I was desperately looking for shop that would help me with my 60,000 mile service, someone honest and affordable, as many of you know that is very hard to find. One of my very good friends referred me to Gary. I went down there, what a pleasant surprise, I told Gary what I want done, he went over all the steps and cost associated with it. He promised to have the car ready for me before closing, right on the dot, my car was ready for a great price. These guys truly deserve a 5 star, they have a customer for life. Thank you so much Gary!!!!
2017-07-30
5 out of 5
It is 10 years since I moved to LA, and I finally found a great mechanic. For a town where cars are a necessity, I was unhappy about mechanics until I found Carotech - right the the corner of Shenandoah and Pico. Gary K. is a terrific guy and I've found him to be both expert in the field and very straightforward and trustworthy. Carotech (and Gary) have my highest recommendation. Great service. Good rates. Clear communication. I'm really happy to have found a great repair shop in LA!
2017-06-30
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why some would speak negatively about this company and it's manager/owner. Carotech Automotive gives the best customer service hands down. Their prices are affordable and the service is exceptional. Gary is very kind and helpful. Juan Carlos is great Technician and goes over and beyond to make you feel comfortable with the work done on your vehicle. You should definitely give them some consideration for your vehicle repairs!
2017-06-30
5 out of 5
I legitimately expect to get ripped off every time I have to do anything car related; at this point in my life I've basically come to accept it as going with the territory. Gary and Carotech is the first mechanic and shop I've met that I fully trust and who went far above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that my car was serviced, safe, and had work priced fairly. After taking my car in for an oil change, they spotted and issue with my rear brakes that (because they send you a full report of their step by step analysis including pictures) I knew was true; upon completion there were issues with the car that had nothing to do with that repair but which he insisted on fixing to my satisfaction. There's no finer place to get your car serviced in the city, and my take on the negative reviews is that they simply didn't want to hear anything other than what they wanted. LA is full of places willing to do substandard work for a lower price, especially if you say it's all you care about. That's not what happens here, and for whatever reason some people take issue with it. It's nice to finally have somebody that I trust unconditionally that has proven their honesty to me, and right around the corner at that. Thanks Gary!
2017-06-30
5 out of 5
Amazing customer service! Because of the high rating I thought they would be good, but they exceeded my expectations. Very nice people, fast and high quality service. Will go back!
2017-03-30
5 out of 5
Amazing, friendly, honest service. I took my car to a franchise automotive center for a brake service since I have a credit card from them. They quoted me an exorbitant amount, so I went to carotech for a second opinion. Catotech did the work for way less and told me 3 of the franchise locations "highly recommended" repairs could wait another 4-5,000 miles.Thanks caro tech for being a good neighbor!
2017-02-28
5 out of 5
Absolutely AMAZING service! I cannot recommend Carotech and Gary enough - courteous, kind, honest and thorough service. They brought our older model car to new life!
2017-01-30
5 out of 5
Thank you Gary! Very nice to meet you!!!
2016-11-30
5 out of 5
What shall I say more than what is already siad in Gary and his team!!! They are just as amazing and honest as I have never dealt with any like that before for my car. Gary is a nice, respectable and a friendly guy that took me easily through every little step with my Altima. He called me after the initial inspection to stand on the issues and asked me to come on-site to show me everything he pointed out that needed real attention. He never sells you anything you will not need URGENTLY. He cares for your car as if it is his own and really cares for your -and others- safety on road! Unfortunately my car did require quite a bunch of stuff to he done! He gave me a really fair price (despite I'm still complaining of it :-D) ... but no kidding it is very fair for the amount of job he did and I bet it is very reasonable compared to other auto shops...add to that his HONESTY which I really have to highlight. I'm back on the asphalt today after 4 days of work on my car. I love how my car drives now and really appreciate the work Gary and his team did. They even offer you 24 months/24,000 miles warranty on any parts installed by them in your car.Bottom line, I will never deal with any autoshop other than Carotech automotive.I highly recommend this place for anyone seeking incredible service, honesty, and reasonable prices.Thank you Gary!
2016-11-30
4 out of 5
Lindsey and his team at Action Auto Care are awesome. Great prices, honest work, they have gone above and beyond so many times.
2016-11-30
5 out of 5
They have done a good job with my Prius twice now. The 3rd time, the owner diagnosed an expensive problem, but asked me if he could call my dealership to see if they would cover it. He called me back and said the problem was covered under my dealership warranty and I could take it there and they'd do it at no cost. I really, really appreciated him doing that. He saved me a few thousand dollars and gave up the business he would have gotten from it. That's integrity. I'll be going back to him again.
2016-11-30
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I went to Carotech. Gary made getting my car repaired completely painless. The people there examined my car, showed me exactly what the problems were, and clearly explained what needed to be done. They handled all the repairs on time and now my car runs better than it has in years. Highly recommended!
2015-11-30
4 out of 5
Several months ago I had Carotech fix the window on my convertible VW beetle. Not only was Gary and his team extremely helpful and super nice, but I also felt like they were honest people and the price was extremely fair. Since I don't know anything about cars, I am always weary of mechanics, but not at Carotech. Just today they checked my car for a strange noise, did it quickly and didn't charge me anything. I highly recommend Carotech!
2015-11-30
5 out of 5
I love Gary and Carotech. They are my go to mechanics - My best experience was when I got a flat a little while back and went to them. Gary first took a look to see if the tire could be repaired, and when he determined the flat was too bad he gave the me numbers of a few used tire places that matched the tread depth of my other tires to a used one and I drove off with a match for under $30. Gary made nothing from the deal, he just genuinely wanted to get me the best service possible.He won my loyalty from then onwards.
2015-11-30
5 out of 5
I brought in my 2013 Range Rover for a brake job on a recommendation of a friend. I had the best service, fast, efficient, honest and polite. I will recommend you take your car to Carotech before you go to the dealer any day!
2015-11-30
5 out of 5
I am from out of town visiting old relatives in LA. The 'Check Engine' light in their trustee Subaru Legacy came on a while ago and I was asked to help with finding a reliable car mechanic.Yelp came through as always and with so many 5-Star reviews for Carotech I headed out to their shop which indeed proved a very good choice..Gary is very personable and easy going and was a delight to work with.2 days later the car was ready and I was pleasantly surprised to see that not only was the car washed and vacuumed, but the whole Engine bay was water-pressure washed and is now squeaky clean. The only other time it was that clean was surely in 1997 when my relatives bought the car brand new!!Thank you Gary for a great experience and should anything further be required, my relatives now know where to go.
2015-11-30
5 out of 5
This is a place you can trust. The owner is a genuinely nice guy, and the mechanics are extremely nice. I've been to him twice now, and his prices are better than anyone else. And even if they weren't, I would still go to him, because I would trust that the job would be done right.
2014-11-30
5 out of 5
Love Carotech! Glad to have found an honest and kind mechanic in my neighborhood!
2014-11-30
5 out of 5
The service is awesome, the manager (Gary) knew exactly what the issue was and quickly had his technician repair it. The tires on my vehicle needed to be replaced, so I asked for a quote. The amount was fair (didn't want to wait longer), so I had them changed the same day! I have been at other repair shop on Pico Blvd, but this place is honest and direct! Thank you Gary!
2014-11-30
5 out of 5
What a relief to find Carotech Automotive! I needed some major repairs done for my 2010 Dodge Caliber (front brakes, suspension, control arm, fuel control system, etc.) The owner couldn't have been easier to talk to and he did ALOT of work in a short amount of time at a reasonable price. He even lowered the final price $200 from the original estimate. I think I finally found a reliable local mechanic!
2013-11-30
5 out of 5
Garry is honest and very knolageble.

Review Us